Wow. I had this whole post ready to go, and my Macbook decided to eat it. Grrr!!! Well, here we go. Take 2!

I had a hard time with this weeks Pink Wednesday. Pink  just was not inspiring me, despite how much I adore pink polish! I have a ton of pinks, although I rarely wear them. Since I have rekindled my love affair with polish, I tend to lean toward darker shades and at the moment I am all about fall colors, blues and glitters.  Last night I sat down and decided to organize my polish drawers by brand, hoping that maybe going through all my polishes would bring about some sort of inspiration. While sorting, I came across my Revlon polishes and voila!  Not blinding inspiration, but some sort of inspiration nonetheless!  I whipped out my Starry Pink from Revlon and set to polishing!

 

Starry Pink is part of Revlon’s Expressionist collection.  A lovely shade of pale pink with silver microglitter and larger hex glitter, this is the only glitter polish that I have ever come across with a creme base.  Interesting concept, but would it translate on my nails? In the bottle, Starry Pink looks very milky yet the glitter still stands out. I was hoping that the glitter would still be visible on the nail, but was not all that pleased with the outcome. The formula is actually very nice, but is very sheer. I used 3 coats to reach opacity .  The glitter, although visible, is somewhat obscured by the creme formula, which makes my polish look rather chunky and uneven. I did use thin coats hoping to coax a little more glittery fabulousness out of it, but my efforts were futile.  To me, it looks as if I were wearing a glitter polish and painted over it with pink.  I’m sure some people could really rock this polish, but I’m not one of them.  Despite being a gorgeous shade of pink, I just do not like this polish on me.

This is 3 coats of Starry Pink with a coat of Revlon Quick Dry Top Coat (Please forgive my poor cuticles. They are still recovering from my horrible allergic reaction to Burt’s Bees and are just a mess ) :

 

Pretty, but I do wish Revlon had used a jelly base instead.  And don’t those cuticles look sad? I am just torn up over how horrible they look after my allergic reaction. I suppose I should have expected it, since my cuticles were very swollen, red and sore for a few days, but I just want to cry! 😦

I hope you guys were more inspired than I was this week! I have some ideas for next week’s Pink Wednesday mani floating around already!

I still have Milani One Coat Glitter to show you guys, as well as a ton of Nicole by OPI polishes that I have yet to use, Milani Holographics, and of course, MORE GLITTER!

Oh! On an upside,  I was gifted one of NOPI’s Holiday Glitters today! I am the happy-go-lucky owner of Snow-Man of My Dreams, and I cannot wait to share it with you! I also spent some time browsing in Target, and Essie’s Cocktail Bling Collection is to die for! I can’t wait to pick those up! I’m trying to hold out until payday (credit cards are bad!), as well as until LuxEffects is out as well.  There are so many holiday collections that I am already fiending for. Lemmings and more Lemmings!

Happy Polishing!

-Kimber

