Quick mobile post…

Last night curiosity got the best of me. I’ve been using Essie’s Good to Go top coat for awhile now, and although I love it, I really missed the uber speedy dry time of Seche Vite, as well as the glassy shine. GTG dries pretty quickly, but as we all know nothing dries as fast as SV, and although GTG is up there as far as shine, it’s not as glassy and hard. I still have 2 bottles of SV that I use for Pedis, and I decided to give it one more go on my nails since I have an appointment today and needed to wear a plain Mani. I know you’re not supposed to use thinner with SV, but I am a curious girl and wondered what would happen if I did! I took my very thick bottle of SV, added a bit of thinner, shook the hell out of that baby and waited a good 10 minutes. Then I tested it on my hubby. Guess what? My SV was back to original consistency and drying time and shine were not affected! I compared it to my newer bottle of SV and no difference. So I tested it on my Mani, making sure to wrap my tips and apply it before clean up. And no shrinkage! None! When I applied it previously my nails were shorter and I didn’t wrap my tips, and I did my clean up before SV. I ended up with shrinkage at the tips and cuticle line. Then I started wrapping my tips, but still had cuticle line shrinkage. Looks like as long as I apply SV right after polishing, wrap my tips and use a few drops of thinner, I can happily use my SV again! Woohoo! Maybe it’s just me, but keeping it thinned out a bit seemed to make a huge difference. I’m a happy girl! Having to use different top coats for different finishes and brands was just irritating. If I can make my SV work, then I’ll certainly be using it. Back into my HG drawer it goes!

